Skip Navigation Links
Institutional Membership Nominees
Leah Bornstein
Debra (Debbie) Derr
Bradley Ebersole
Mary Graham
Andrew Jones
Anne Kress
Doreen Larson
Robert Pura
Luke Robins
Jackson Sasser
Christine Sobek
Gregory Williams
Affiliated Council Nominees
Christal Albrecht
Anthony Beebe
Sandra Kurtinitis
Ann Loochtan
Donna Meyer
Lawrence Nespoli
John Rainone
L. Marshall Washington

 Christine Sobek 

POSITION -- Since 2001, President of Waubonsee Community College, a public, comprehensive community college with four campuses in Sugar Grove, Aurora, and Plano, Illinois.

PREVIOUS -- Served as provost, executive vice president for Educational Affairs, assistant vice president for Instruction, assistant vice president for Student Development, dean of Student Development, Waubonsee Community College; executive assistant to the President, director of Personnel, Affirmative Action officer, director of Placement, College of Lake County; adjunct faculty member, Trinity College; assistant director of Student Affairs, Lyman Briggs Residential College at Michigan State University.

AFFILIATIONS -- President of the Illinois Council of Community College Presidents; member of the American Council on Education Commission on Inclusion and the American Association of Community Colleges Sustainability Taskforce; member of the Illinois Pathways Advisory Council, Northern Illinois University Adult and Higher Education Advisory Council, the Rush-Copley Medical Center Board of Directors, the Marmion Academy Board of Trustees, and the Geneva Lions Club.

EDUCATION -- Ed.D., Adult Continuing Education, Northern Illinois University; M.A., College Student Personnel, Michigan State University; B.A., Psychology, Purdue University, with Highest Distinction.

OTHER -- Awarded: Outstanding Alumni Award, Northern Illinois University; Shirley B. Gordon Award of Distinction, Phi Theta Kappa International Honor Society; Michigan State University College of Education Alumni Association Distinguished Alumni Award; National Council of Marketing and Public Relations District 3 Pacesetter of the Year Award; Quad County Urban League Lifetime Achievement Award; and national finalist for the American Association of Community Colleges Emerging Leadership award. Presentations: numerous American Association of Community Colleges Annual Conventions and Association of Community College Trustees Leadership Congress Conferences and other state, regional and national events. Publications: Marzano, W. and Sobek, C. (2010). “The Seeds of Success: Strategic planning helps colleges see the forest for the trees.” Community College Journal, 36+.

Home | Site Map | ©2014  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |