Skip Navigation Links
Institutional Membership Nominees
Leah Bornstein
Debra (Debbie) Derr
Bradley Ebersole
Mary Graham
Andrew Jones
Anne Kress
Doreen Larson
Robert Pura
Luke Robins
Jackson Sasser
Christine Sobek
Gregory Williams
Affiliated Council Nominees
Christal Albrecht
Anthony Beebe
Sandra Kurtinitis
Ann Loochtan
Donna Meyer
Lawrence Nespoli
John Rainone
L. Marshall Washington

 Doreen Larson 

POSITION -- Since 2010, President of Pierpont Community and Technical College serving 13 counties in North Central West Virginia, a young community college taking the lead in innovative developmental education and reinvention of general education curriculum along with undertaking rapid response workforce programs in Oil and Gas, Power generation and distribution, Allied Health, First Responder training, and Aviation.

PREVIOUS -- Served as Vice President for Student Affairs, Holyoke Community College; Assistant Vice President for Student Access and Success, Lakeland Community College; Dean of Counseling and Academic Support Services, Lakeland Community College;  Associate Professor, Lakeland Community College; Assistant Professor, Kent State University.

AFFILIATIONS -- Serves on AACC Commission for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion;  President of West Virginia chapter of AACC; Marion County United Way Executive Board and immediate past Campaign Chair; Women’s Health Initiative Executive Board; Women of Wellness North Central WV Chair; WV Youth Academy Trustee;  Seven Stories Theater Board of Trustees; Marion Regional Development Corporation Executive Board; Chair of CTCS Committee on Middle School Cross-Counseling; Lifelong volunteer for Habitat for Humanity; Mentor in the Education Alliance West Virginia Mentoring Partnership Program.

EDUCATION -- Ph.D., Special Education-Adult Transitional Services, Kent State University; M.A., Education, John Carroll University; B.A., Education-Special Education, Cleveland State University (graduate summa cum laude).

OTHER -- Publications: “Holyoke Community College: A Leader in Learning Communities” (League Connections, 2009); Dissertation – “The Degree of Employment for College Graduates with Disabilities” (Kent State University, 1994). Awards: Marion County Chamber of Commerce 2012 Women’s Achievement Award; United Way Campaign Excellence Award, 2013; Mayfield High School Hall of Fame inductee, 2011; NASPA Leadership Award, Region I, 2010; Corporate Universities Xchange Award, 2001. Presenter/Keynote: West Virginia Women’s Leadership Institute; Executive Leadership Institute; AACC President’s Academy Summer Institute; Women on Wellness Retreat; 2012 West Virginia Economic Development Summit; Rivesville 8th 2012 Grade Graduation Ceremony; 2012 Marion County Special Olympics; 2012 Leadership WV Education Day.

Home | Site Map | ©2014  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | |  |