Skip Navigation Links
AACC 2013-2016 Strategic Plan
AACC Affiliated Councils
AACC Commissions
AACC Commissions FAQ
Government Relations Advisory Group
AACC Corporate Program
Corporate Council
Corporate Futures Forum
AACC Governance
AACC Senior Staff
Diversity, Inclusion, and Equity
Join AACC: Your Investment in Success
Issue Areas
Is Your College a Member?
Mission Statement
Presidents Academy
Who We Are
Work for AACC

 Government Relations Advisory Group 

AACC Advocacy Advisory Group

The American Association of Community Colleges’ (AACC) Board of Directors has established the AACC Advocacy Advisory Group, to be made up of member presidents and other senior campus representatives. Members of the group will provide input on AACC’s policy development and assist in its advocacy efforts in a formal ongoing fashion.

The new Advocacy Advisory Group derives from ongoing board discussions as well as the successful work of AACC’s task force on the Higher Education Act (HEA) Reauthorization, culminating in an updated position statement and a June Capitol Hill briefing. The upcoming presidential transition and a new Congress make greater AACC member engagement essential.

Membership and Scheduled Meetings

The Advocacy Advisory Group is comprised of 35 members:

J. David Armstrong, President, Broward College

Jane Karas, President, Flathead Valley Community College

Susan Madden, Government Relations Officer, Montgomery College

Karen A. Bowyer, President, Dyersburg State Community College

Cristobal (Chris) A. Bustamante, President, Rio Salado College

Neil Aspinwall, Chancellor, SOWELA Technical Community College

Kenneth L. Ender, President, Harper College

Steve Johnson, President, Sinclair Community College

Jon Bauer, President, East Central College

Scott Ralls, President, Northern Virginia Community College

Cam Preus, President, Blue Mountain Community College

Steve Rose, President, Passaic County Community College

James (Jim) Jacobs, President, Macomb Community College

Kristine Strickland, President, Fletcher Technical Community College

Amos McDonald, Vice Chancellor, External Affairs Lone Star College

Mary Rittling, President, Davidson County Community College

Bill Mullowney, VP for Policy and General Counsel, Valencia College

Morna Foy, President, Wisconsin Technical College System

John Lederer, Exec Dean, Career/Workforce Edu, North Seattle College

Tim Sheehan, Vice President, Government and Community Relations Salt Lake Community College

Jim  Kersten, VP of Government Affairs, Iowa Central Community College

Alicia  Harvey-Smith, Executive Vice Chancellor, Lone Star College

Joanne Truesdell, President, Clackamas Community College

Madeline Pumariega, Chancellor, Florida Community College System

Joe May, Chancellor, Dallas Community College District

Bradley Ebersole, President, Washington State Community College

Lynette Brown, VP Marketing and Govt. Relations, Community College of Philadelphia

Ken Atwater, President, Hillsborough Community College

Mark Heinrich, Chancellor, Alabama Community College System

Rick Neal, Government Relations Officer, Tulsa Community College

Natalie Harder, President, Southwest Louisiana Community College

Jackson Sasser, President, Santa Fe College

Leah Bornstein, President, Aims Community College

Anne Kress, President, Monroe Community College

Doreen Larson President Edison State Community College

Christine Sobek, President, Waubonsee Community College

Kate Hetherington, President, Howard Community College

The Advocacy Advisory Group participates in three meetings each year. The expected dates of the upcoming in-person meetings will be: 

  • November 11, 2016, in Washington, DC
  • April 25, 2017, in New Orleans, LA
  • June 2017 in Washington, DC


Home | Site Map | ©2017  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467 | | |