Skip Navigation Links
Advocacy News
Pell Grant Action Center
TAACCCT Past Awardees Information
Useful Links
Washington Advocacy Seminar
Webinar Archive

 Federal Resources for Rural Community Colleges 

12/1/2011

U.S. Secretary of Education Arne Duncan and U.S. Secretary of Agriculture Tom Vilsack are committed to working collaboratively across federal agencies to provide support and additional resources to high-need rural communities. The Departments are honoring this stated commitment with a series of conference calls with higher education leaders serving rural areas.

On Thursday, December 15 at 3 p.m. EST, John White, the Department of Education’s Deputy Assistant Secretary for Rural Outreach, Cheryl Cook, the Deputy Undersecretary for USDA Rural Development, and Sam Morgan, a program analyst for USDA’s Distance Learning and Telemedicine Program, will host a conference call with members of the Rural Community College Alliance (RCCA) and rural members of the American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) to describe collaborative efforts and focus on educational resources available through USDA. They will highlight key programs and take your questions and comments. 

The Department of Education’s 10 regional offices and USDA’s network offices in every state have been working collaboratively in rural areas to increase awareness and understanding of federal resources.  

CONFERENCE CALL INFORMATION

DATE: Thursday, Dec. 15, 2011

TIME: 3:00-4:00 p.m. ET/2:00-3:00 p.m. CT/1:00-2:00 p.m. MT/Noon-1:00 p.m. PT

Call-In #: 888-947-9967

Passcode: EDUCATION (Given verbally)

RCCA Contact: Dr. Randy Smith (randy.smith@ruralccalliance.com)

AACC Contact: Laurie Quarles (lquarles@aacc.nche.edu)

Home | Site Map | ©2014  American Association of Community Colleges
 One Dupont Circle, NW | Suite 410 | Washington, DC 20036 | Ph: 202.728.0200 | Fx: 202.833.2467
www.aacc21stcenturycenter.org | www.ccdaily.com | plus50.aacc.nche.edu  | www.theseedcenter.org